14.2 C
New York
Wednesday, June 7, 2023

Tiny Desk (Residence) Live performance : NPR

NPR Music’s Tiny Desk is celebrating Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month. These artists characterize only a sliver of the cultural variety that exists inside the Asian American and Pacific Islander neighborhood.

As daylight filters into the nook of the room, the singer and rapper Jay Park is popping his All the pieces You Needed deep minimize “I Obtained This” inside out with a cool, lounge-ready interpretation on the trap-powered jam. “Born and raised in Seattle; we rep South Korea — Seoul metropolis,” he outlines, earlier than transitioning into the feel-good R&B of his 2022 single “Have to Know,” and that cross-cultural alternate has outlined his eager shapeshifting — and the refined breadth of the music he brings to his Tiny Desk (dwelling) live performance.

Since his days as a short-lived member of the Ok-pop group 2PM, Park has stayed on the forefront of the South Korean hip-hop and R&B scenes. As a performer, he has steadily developed right into a polymath, with a easy, singsong model that straddles his rap and neo soul identities. He has since crossed over, signing with Roc Nation stateside, recording an EP with Hit-Boy and collaborating with artists starting from Jay Electronica to Charli XCX.

His Tiny Desk (dwelling) set performs into his pure instincts to fiddle with many influences. Backed by a band and a small refrain that fill out his songs and allow them to breathe, Park brings a brand new heat to his current catalog right here. He performs “Yesterday” and “Gandara,” a few of his extra acoustic ballads, with even larger delicacy, the latter unwrapping gently into the extra upbeat “Sweet.” This rendition of “All I Need to Do” turns the hit into one thing funkier, amped by bass and harmonized vocal runs. And an “only-for-NPR” efficiency of “Intercourse Journey” strips the music down with uncooked, falsetto vocals. However the whole lot Park’s performed, the whole lot he’s, is on show within the reimagined “Mommae,” through which a ratchet-era twerk anthem turns into soul balladry.


  • “I Obtained This”
  • “Want To Know”
  • “Yesterday”
  • “All I Wanna Do”
  • “Ganadara” 
  • “Sweet”
  • “Intercourse Journey”
  • “Mommae” 


  • Jay Park: vocals
  • Slom: music director
  • Shyun: arranger, guitar
  • Junhyun Yoon: keys
  • Jongwoo Park: bass
  • Wonyoung Jang: drums
  • paulkyte: refrain
  • Otis Lim: refrain
  • Eunjin Kwon: refrain



  • Recording: Presound Methods
  • Mixing: STUDIO 505
  • Devices: SUN Music


  • Director: Daniel Jon
  • Producer: Youngpyo Hong
  • D.O.P: Deokjung Kim
  • Gaffer: Hyunsuk Track (Actual Lighting)


  • Producer: Bobby Carter
  • Video Producer: Sofia Seidel
  • Audio Mastering: Josh Rogosin
  • Tiny Desk Group: Bob Boilen, Suraya Mohamed, Kara Body, Joshua Bryant, Maia Stern, Hazel Cills, Ashley Pointer
  • VP, Visuals and Music: Keith Jenkins
  • Senior VP, Programming: Anya Grundmann

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles